Reviews

A Touch of Reviews: Dun Laoghaire Market and the Arctic Stone Ice Cream stall

So, time for a new little thing I’ll be doing from time to time on the blog. Occasionally I’ll discover this amazing place or go somewhere cool and I’ll really want to write about it, but then I keep putting it off, because….

Well I’m a terrible procrastinator sometimes.

However, I’m a procrastinator no more!

So before I start this, just let me say, no one has asked me to review this and I am not being paid or sponsored for this post. I simply wanted to give my own honest opinion about

So I went to Dun Laoghaire market the other day with a friend to visit this ice cream place. For those of you not familiar with Ireland or Dublin in general, Dun Laoghaire is here. 

Located along the DART line towards the southside of County Dublin, Dun Laoghaire is a seaside town with a beautiful seafront and lots of lovely little restaurants and ice cream places to try. All in all, a nice place to visit on one of the rare sunny days in Ireland.

Dun Laoghaire harbour.jpg

More known for Teddy’s, it’s considered by some of my friends to be a rite of passage to eat Teddy’s ice cream in Dun Laoghaire on the pier. Alas, that one will have to wait for me as I did not come to Dun Laoghaire for Teddy’s.

No, I came for the Arctic Stone ice cream company, a regular stall at the People’s Park market. Here you can find all kinds of stalls selling mostly food, but some jewellery or pottery as well. It’s foodie heaven as many of the food stalls serve authentic food, that’s very, very good.

The Artic Stone company sells rolled ice cream, a staple on the streets of Thailand, where a mixture of cream and milk is poured into a cold plate along with different flavourings and add ins, which are then churned and cut up using two blades, before being spread over the surface and rolled into ice cream rolls which are then topped with extras of your choice and a choice of sauces.

Located in Dun Laoghaire market on Sundays, they also have a permanent store in Blackrock market where they are open from 12pm onwards from Monday to Thursday and 11 am Friday to Sunday. They also have stall at Marlay Park in Rathfarnham every Saturday from 10:30am-4:30pm. More information about their opening times and locations can be found here.

Now, if you are looking for lots of different base flavours, this may leave you a little disappointed. The combinations of toppings and sauces mean that no two ice cream rolls will be exactly the same, but the base flavours are the same.

The menu on offer is:

  • Cookie Monster- a blend of cookies and Nutella
  • Berry Necessities- a mix of summer berries mixed into the ice cream base
  • Salted Caramel- sea salt and a caramel sauce which are mixed on the cold plate
  • Muy Bueno- which features hazelnuts and Kinder bueno bars
  • Banoffee pie- half a banana, a digestive biscuit and caramel sauce are mixed in with the base
  • The Full Minty- a mint flavoured base with chocolate added in
  • Tropical Thunder- a mix of mango, kiwi, papaya, melon and passionfruit

Along with toppings ranging from crumbled cookies, strawberries or chocolate along with sauces like strawberry, chocolate or caramel which does give a decent menu to choose from.

Arctic Stone Ice Cream

The price is reasonable, €5 for a regular or €7 for a large and I found the regular to be more than enough for myself, giving you at least a cup of freshly rolled ice cream with two toppings and a sauce of your choice.

I’ve got more of a sweet tooth, so I decided to go for the banoffee pie, a favourite of mine, while my friend got the full minty. I got sliced strawberries and crushed cookies opting out of a sauce, while she got chocolate flakes and marshmallows and the chocolate sauce.

Now the wait began. The staff took our orders and wrote them on a cup and we waited. On the cold plate, they poured out the bases and then added our toppings.

Banana, a digestive and a spoonful of caramel were chopped and then folded into the base until they were fully combined. They spread them and then rolled them up and handed them to us in our large cups.

After topping mine we sat down and admired the ice cream. Now I understand why rolled ice cream is popular, as the presentation was fantastic and it’s definitely an Instagram worthy dessert, but would it stand up to the taste test?

The ice cream base was definitely vanilla and had a creamy mouthfeel like proper ice cream should have. It tasted clean and fresh and was not overly sweet. The addition of the banana, digestive and caramel sauce meant every bite was a mixture of these and it worked fairly well, although I did long for a little more caramel.

Next time, I might try some of the other flavours and I’d go for the caramel sauce on top next time as the caramel got a little lost in the ice cream base, but I was impressed by the ice cream.

The full minty truly lived up to expectations. Now I’m not a fan of mint in general, but even I enjoyed this wonderful medley of flavours. The chocolate chunks were small and well distributed in the ice cream and the mint flavour was there, but not overpowering. The ice cream was not too sweet either, which allowed you to appreciate the other flavours present.

Overall, this is a company that I would highly recommend to anyone looking for good ice cream in Dublin, with a bit of a twist on the traditional ice cream shop.

I’d also recommend the market in general, as there are loads of food places to try and they have wood-fired pizza! Plus they do pretty good sweet potato fries.

IMG_8889

 

Leave a Reply

