All Things Chocolate · Desserts · Not so healthy recipes · Pies and Tarts · Snacks

Mini Chocolate Orange Oat Tarts

What a lovely start to the bank holiday weekend. No one is up at the moment, the sun is just beginning to rise and all I can hear is the sound of my typing and birds chirping outside.

I couldn’t ask for a better start to a Friday morning.

It’s the perfect time to share my latest creation.

IMG_6469.JPG

I used to be a night owl and stay up until 3-4 am in the morning, regardless of whether I had to be up at 6am for school (which has been constant throughout school and college). I was tired during the day, but I loved the peace and quiet that could be found when you were the only one awake.

Now I don’t mean the scary kind of alone where you are convinced that every door creak is an axe murderer coming to kill you, but the nice kind where you can just relax and some alone time.

I like other people, but I need to recharge and the night gave me some time for myself.

Some people may find that weird, but it worked for me.

Now as I’ve entered college and grown a little wiser (well, I can hope at least), I no longer do that and I’ve done a bit of a 180° turn in that respect. Now I’m up at 5am and no longer stay up past 9-10 if I can, but I find that I prefer this routine to my previous one.

I would be stressed due to my lack of sleep and then trying to cope with school work and homework on top of that made me moody during the day. Now, getting enough sleep and having a consistent routine leaves me refreshed rather than grumpy and able to focus on my work rather than feeling like a zombie.

The recipe I have today for you was a result of the leftover Easter chocolate and a spontaneous idea from Pinterest.

IMG_6465

See I’m a chocoholic through and through and Easter is one of my favourite times because it gives me an excuse to buy myself a ton of chocolate every year. (cough cough, not that I do that anyway…)

Chocolate is perfect to eat by itself, but sometimes you just want something different and this is where you can get creative. I like to make my own truffles and filled chocolates, but tarts and pies are another option.

What I like about these, is that they are still quite decadent, but better for you than a normal chocolate tart would be and come with built-in porttion control.

These tarts are rich and satisfying and yummy.

IMG_6468.JPG

The type of chocolate you use will make this more or less rich. Using a very dark chocolate will make it richer, but I suggest adjusting the amounts of sweetener for your own tastes.

I used a combination of both dark and milk chocolate for one batch and all milk chocolate for another and both were good. It depends on your own preferences.

For white chocolate, I would omit all or most of the sweetener because white chocolate is sweet by itself and the added sweetener may be too much.

For this recipe, you need to spray the muffin pan really well and when making the crust, oil your hands slightly and then press up and around the pan to form a good solid crust. While the crusts are baking, make the filling.

These can also be made gluten-free by using gluten-free oats (make sure to read the package) and vegan by using vegan substitutes where needed.

You can make the crust in a food processor or normal bowl. I don’t mind the larger chunks of oats, but you can process them together to make a finer crust. I just didn’t feel like washing the food processor so I used a bowl.

For the filling, heat the milk up first and add it to the chocolate and wait until it melts and then heat it up a little more if needed and then follow the recipe.

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did 🙂

Mini Chocolate Orange Oat Tarts

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

Total time: 3 hours 30 minutes

Yield: 12 tarts

Ingredients

Crust

  • 200g / 2 cups + 2 tbsp
    Oats
  • 30g / 2 tbsp
    Light butter spread, melted
  • 1
    Egg
  • 2/3 cup
    Sucralose sweetener
  • 1/4 tsp
    Salt
  • 15 ml/ 1 tbsp
    Maple syrup or honey (or other liquid sweetener of choice) 
  • 20 ml/ 4 tsp
    Low fat milk

Filling

  • 250g
    Milk or dark chocolate, broken into chunks/ chopped
  • 10 ml/ 2 tsp
    Orange extract
  • 12g / 1 1/2 tbsp
    Cornstarch
  • 1/3-1/2 cup
    Sucralose sweetener or stevia
  • 180 ml/ 3/4 cup
    Low fat milk/ milk of choice
  • Optional: Handful of granola for topping (use gluten-free if desired)
    Mini white and milk chocolate chips

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 200°C/ 180°C fan assisted and lightly grease a 12 muffin pan with oil or non stick spray.
  2. Mix together the oats and salt in a bowl and then melt down the butter spread and add to the bowl along with the egg, sweetener, liquid sweetener and milk. Mix together until the mixture comes together like a dough and add slightly more milk if needed.
  3. Press into the muffin pan and along the sides to form 12 mini crusts.
  4. Bake in the oven for 9-10 minutes until golden brown.
  5. Once baked, allow to cool for a few minutes and then run a thin knife around the edges of the crusts and carefully remove them and place them on a cooling rack.
  6. Meanwhile, heat up the milk until quite warm in the microwave and then pour into a large microwave safe mixing bowl along with the broken up chocolate, orange extract and sweetener. Stir around until the chocolate has melted, heating up for 30 seconds in the microwave if needed to melt it.
  7. Make a slurry with the cornstarch and then stir into the mixture. Microwave on high for 3-4 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds until the mixture has thickened.
  8. Once thickened, evenly divide between the oat cups and then top with chocolate chips and granola if desired.
  9. Chill in the fridge for 3-4 hours and then serve. Store leftovers in the fridge for up to 4 days.

Nutritional Information

Makes 12 mini tarts
Serving size:
1 mini tart

Calories: 239
Fat: 9.9g
Saturated fat: 5.8g
Carbs: 31.4g
Fibre: 2.5g
Sugar: 16.4g
Protein: 5.5g

Recipe notes

Make sure to grease the muffin tin very well to prevent the crusts from sticking to the pan or you can line them with a small ring of baking paper to make them easier to remove.

Vegan option: Replace the egg with a flax egg/ vegan egg replacer and use vegan chocolate and maple syrup instead of honey. Replace the milk with either soy or almond milk and you’re good to go.

Gluten-free option: Make sure that the oats you buy are gluten-free and if you want to top with the granola, make sure it is gluten-free as well.

Leave a Reply

