Cupcakes · Desserts · Snacks

Lighter Fairy Cakes

A favourite of many young school children and delicious plain or lightly dusted with icing sugar or filled with jam, fairy cakes are a simple creation which never cease to be delicious.


I probably say this way too much but these were another favourite of my childhood. Of course we usually got the storebought ones rather than trying to make them ourselves, but I still remember them being delicious.

However, as with most things, a good homemade cupcake far outshines even the best of mass-produced storebought treats anyday and these are no exception to that golden rule.


The story behind this recipe comes from my birthday and a request from my brother sometime around Christmas.

My brother is picky. He eats things, but he knows what he likes and what he doesn’t like and that definitely extends to desserts. His favourite dessert ever is Betty Crocker Chocolate Fudge Brownies with chocolate chips. I’ve tried home recipes and his favourite is still the boxed mix so for Christmas and his birthday I break my general rule of never using box mixes and give him what he wants. I have fun decorating it however with my brother’s desserts,I don’t bother trying to make them healthier as he would notice.

Here are the creations from his last birthday and Christmas.


For his birthday, he helped me to decorate it and we made a double layer chocolate chip brownie cake with nutella filling and coating around the outside, covered with mini marshmallows and topped with a drizzle of melted white chocolate.

Christmas was a brownie base with melted milk chocolate and crushed oreos on top.

As you can imagine the calorie count for both was horrendous.

But it’s important to remember that you can indulge every once in a while and these desserts were so rich that having more than one slice was enough to make me feel sick. Even one slice was very rich and hard to eat, so portion control was already built in with these desserts.

Anyway, so my brother loves Betty Crocker brownies, chocolate and he also loves storebought iced fairy cakes, also called iced queen cakes. They are soft fairy cakes, covered with a simple coloured icing.


Now for my birthday, I went all out and made a billion different recipes, some healthy and others really not healthy at all. I made 4 different batches of cookies, fairy cakes, carrot cake muffins, chocolate brownies both cakey and fudgy and another fairy cake recipe which was topped with a lighter, but still quite decadent pink buttercream frosting. In addition to this, I made mini cheesecakes and I had some strawberry mousse which was sitting in a jug.

So before the mad baking session began, I was brainstorming what I wanted to make for my birthday. I have dessert and sweet things every day, often multiple times a day so when it comes to special occasions, I don’t really know what to make because it’s just an everyday thing for me to bake delicious things.

Cookies came up on my list as I already had a cheesecake sitting in the fridge waiting for me to eat and so did fairy cakes. I remembered my brother’s request to make him some queen cakes and remembered that I liked them as well, but I preferred homemade things, so they went on my list.

Obviously, because it was my birthday, I wanted to make them healthier and lower in calories and sugar than their storebought counterparts.

Several recipe trials later and the beautiful combination of jam with cupcakes and they were done!


And now I present to you, the fruit of my labour of love, lighter fairy cakes, with only 107 calories each. Enjoy!

Lighter Fairy Cakes

Prep time: 15 minutes

Cook time: 8-10 minutes

Total time: 25-30 minutes

Yield: 12 fairy cakes

Calories per serving: 107 (excluding jam)

Ingredients

  • 100g
    Plain flour
  • 15g
    Cornstarch/ custard powder
  • 1 tsp
    Baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp
    Salt
  • 100g
    Light butter spread
  • 60g
    Caster sugar
  • 1/2 cup
    Sucralose sweetener
  • 2
    Eggs
  • 30ml
    Milk
  • 2 tsp
    Vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp
    Butter extract

Toppings

  • Optional:
    120g low sugar strawberry jam
  • Dusting of
    Icing sugar

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/ 160°C fan assisted and line a 12 case muffin tray with cupcake liners.
  2. Mix together the dry ingredients in a small bowl and set aside.
  3. Cream together the butter spread, sugar and sweetener in a medium mixing bowl using an electric whisk or a stand mixer until it has doubled in size and is pale.
  4. Whisk in the eggs one at a time until combined, whisk in the milk and extracts until mixed together.
  5. Sift and fold the dry ingredients in until just combined and then evenly divide the mixture between the baking cases and bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes until lightly golden brown and risen. Don’t overbake these as they will dry out otherwise.
  6. Remove from the oven and the tray then allow to cool completely on a cooling rack. Top with strawberry jam or yoghurt frosting if desired.
  7. Store leftovers covered in the fridge or in an airtight container for up to 4 days and store with a piece of bread to keep them soft. These are best eaten on the same day though.

Nutritional Information

Makes 12 fairy cakes
Serving size:
1 fairy cake

Calories: 107
Fat: 4.3g
Saturated fat: 2.4g
Carbs: 14.6g
Fibre: 0.3g
Sugar: 6.7g
Protein: 2g

Recipe notes

For one variation I added a pink buttercream to the tops of these and this increased the calories to 174 each, however without they are 107 calories each and you can increase the sweetener to make them sweeter if you want to.

The calories are for the fairy cakes without any jam but when filled with 10g of low sugar jam they work out to about 130 calories each which is pretty good.

 

Leave a Reply

