Lunch · Savoury · Snacks

Mini Garlic Bread Pita Bites

We have a bit of an obsession in my family. It wouldn’t be that obvious, but it’s there, hiding under the surface.


I confess, I’m developing this as well.

I love garlic bread. There I said it and I have no shame.

My love of all things garlic was present from a young age I’d pick at the garlic my dad roasted for Sunday dinner or Christmas, so it never made it to the table because my mum and I would have eaten it all beforehand.

It’s such a versatile spice and makes nearly everything taste amazing. Even the smell of garlic and onions sauteing is heavenly (although not on your clothing. I’ve made the mistake of leaving my coat in the kitchen while cooking garlic and onions and I had to wash it afterwards to get the smell off.)


My love of garlic definitely extends to garlic bread, but sometimes garlic bread and I have issues.

Depending on where you go, it can be dripping in oil and butter, slathered with layers of delicious but greasy cheese. I like my garlic bread with enough oil to soak into the bread, but not so much that the garlic bread can go for a swim before being eaten.

So while garlic bread is amazing, it’s not a major part of my diet because of all of the oil. Although Domino’s and Apache do some lovely garlic bread.

However, I finally found a solution to my garlic bread problem and that was how this recipe was born.


Pitta bread is lovely and when toasted, it goes crispy and delicious. When covered with a garlic butter topping, it turns into garlic bread heaven, but with lower calories.Made into mini garlic bread bites, it’s also adorable and perfect fingerfood for a party or as a lunch with a side of hummus and salad.

But let’s be honest, garlic bread is pretty great all by itself. I had to stop myself from eating most of the recipe so I could get a good photograph.


These are only 33 calories a piece and taste like you are biting into rich, delicious garlicky goodness with every single bite. You can adjust the amount of garlic to your liking and you can use fresh parsley instead of dried if you have it on hand.

The only thing about these is that they’ll go stale over a few days in the fridge so they’re better eaten hot on the same day or after cooling, but you can revive them by popping them in the oven for a bit to warm up.

Mini Garlic Bread Pita Bites

Adapted from: http://www.food.com/recipe/homemade-garlic-pita-chips-347393

Prep time: 5 minutes

Cook time: 15 minutes

Total time: 20 minutes

Yield: 32 mini pita bites

Calories per serving: 33

Ingredients

  • 4
    Large brown or white pita breads
  • 45g/ 3 tbsp
    Light butter spread
  • 25ml/ 5 tsp
    Olive oil
  • 3/4 tsp
    Dried parsley
  • 4
    Garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/8 tsp
    Salt

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/ 160°C fan assisted and line a large baking tray with foil.
  2. Cut the pita breads into 8 small squares and place on the baking tray.
  3. In a small bowl or cup, melt the butter spread and olive oil and mix. Mix in the parsley, minced garlic and salt and stir to mix well.
  4. Once mixed, spread the mixture over the pita bread using a brush and spooning the garlic over the pieces as well. Don’t worry if there seems like a lot of liquid, it will absorb into the bread and taste amazing.
  5. Bake in the oven for 10-12 minutes until lightly brown, making sure to rotate halfway through if your oven is uneven.
  6. Remove from the oven and allow to cool slightly before serving. Best served hot but they are also amazing cold. Leftovers will store in the fridge for 2-3 days but may get slightly stale.
  7. To reheat, place in the oven for 3-5 minutes at 180°C. These can also be frozen and then reheated from frozen in the oven.

Nutritional Information

Makes 32 mini pitta bites
Serving size:
1 mini pita bite

Calories: 33
Fat: 1.5g
Saturated fat: 0.5g
Carbs: 3.9g
Fibre: 0.2g
Sugar: 0.3g
Protein: 0.9g

Recipe notes

 These will go stale after 2 days in the fridge so try and eat these on the same day if you can or you can reheat them in the oven again and they should be fine. 

One thought on “Mini Garlic Bread Pita Bites

Leave a Reply

