Breakfast · Desserts · Puddings · Uncategorized

Vegan Rose Water Pudding with Strawberries (Malabi/ Mulabi)

Finally, I found the photos of the recipe I wanted to post on Monday!

Processed with Snapseed.

I was a little unsure about posting this as I only made this once and I usually try a few times before posting, however it turned out well and my mum and I loved it.

This is inspired by one of my favourite foods, Turkish delight and is a traditional Middle Eastern pudding known as Malabi or Mulabi. It’s basically an Arabic blancmange or vanilla pudding type thing.  It tastes like creamy Turkish delight pudding and smells of rose water.

I say one of my favourites because I don’t have a specific favourite food.

Whenever someone asks me what my favourite food is, I find it hard to give an answer because I don’t think everything is exactly what they’re looking for. It’s not that I’m trying to be difficult,  but I like so many things and my favourites depends on how I feel that day, whether I’ve had it recently and all sorts of other factors. I go through phases rather than specific favourites.

What about you guys?

Do you tend to stick to the same favourites or do you go through phases?

Or , have you ever hated a food and then it became something you love?

I used to think peanut butter was the worst thing on the planet and now I happily eat half a jar with a spoon (okay maybe not half a jar, but I do eat it with a spoon. I tried it with the Nutella, but my siblings rebelled and now no more Nutella spoon eating).

I started liking it after eating more peanuts (okay, yes they were chocolate covered at first, but in my defence, what better way to get yourself to like something than to coat it in sweet, sweet chocolate), and one day my friend offered me a spoonful of peanut butter.  I decided to try it again, adamant I would hate it and I was wrong.

And now, I actually eat the Snickers in the massive packets of Celebrations rather than pawning them off on my dad.

Unfortunately, today’s recipe does not contain peanut butter, but you can top it with chopped nuts like pistachios or add them into the pudding after cooking it and before pouring it into the glass.

For today’s recipe, you’ll need the following things: A saucepan, a whisk, almond milk, rose water, sweetener or sugar, vanilla extract, a pinch of salt and the key ingredient in this pudding and traditional Turkish delight: cornstarch.

IMG_3052.JPG

The topping of strawberries requires fresh strawberries, sweetener or sugar to taste and more cornstarch to thicken it up. Pop the strawberries in the microwave to soften them and then make a slurry with the cornstarch and add it.

Microwave again and stir every 30 seconds or so. It will thicken up quickly and it makes a thick sauce, so decrease it if you want it to be more saucy than solid.

Top the pudding with the strawberry sauce and spread it around evenly and then top with some sliced strawberries and serve.

Just a tip for the pudding, keep stirring it pretty vigorously as you cook it over the stove. Otherwise it sticks to the bottom and you can get lumps in the pudding. I strain mine to remove any lumps and the cardamom pods.

This makes 2-4 servings depending on how big you want it to be and it has a reasonable calorie count of 219 calories for 2 servings. It can also double as a breakfast pudding as well. I will warn you for two servings it is pretty filling, so next time I might make it into three servings instead.

Vegan Rose Water Pudding with Strawberries

Prep time: 10 minutes

Cook time: 20 minutes

Total time: 3 hours 30 minutes

Yield: 2-4 servings

Calories per serving: 219

Ingredients

  • 500ml
    Unsweetened almond milk*
  • 7 g/ 1/4 cup
    Sweetener**
  • 2
    Cardamon pods
  • 45ml / 3 tbsp
    Rose water
  • 2.5 ml/ 1/2 tsp
    Vanilla extract
  • 40 g
    Cornstarch
  • Pinch of
    Salt
  • 120g
    Strawberries (5-6 medium strawberries)
  • 6g / 5 tsp
    Sugar or sweetener
  • 2.5 ml / 1/2 tsp
    Vanilla extract
  • 4 g / 1/2 tbsp
    Cornstarch
  • Water as needed

Instructions

1.      Mix together the almond milk, sweetener, cardamom pods and salt together in a small saucepan.

2.      Take some of the almond milk and mix with the cornstarch in a small glass until a smooth paste has been formed and set aside.

3.      Heat the almond milk for 2-3 minutes and then add the cornstarch mixture in.

4.      Add the rose water and vanilla extract in.

5.      Heat over a medium flame and whisk constantly, cooking the mixture for roughly 10-15 minutes until it has thickened to the consistency of a thick custard.

6.      Once thickened, remove from the flame and remove the cardamom pods.

7.      Pour or spoon into 2-4 glasses and leave to thicken. I strained mine before pouring to remove any lumps of cornstarch that were stuck to the bottom of the pan.

8.      Leave to chill for at least 3 hours before serving or place in the freezer for an hour and leave out at room temperature for 8-10 minutes before serving.

9.      While cooling, make the strawberry sauce by combining the strawberries, sweetener and vanilla extract together in a microwave safe bowl.

10.   Microwave on high for 2-3 minutes until the strawberries are soft and have released their juices. Stir them to break up the strawberries.

11.   In another glass, mix the cornstarch with a small amount of water to form a slurry and then add this to the bowl with the strawberries.

12.   Stir to combine and then microwave again for 1-2 minutes, stirring every 30 seconds.

13.   Leave to cool in the fridge and spread over the puddings before serving.

14.   To serve, pour the strawberry sauce on top and top with chopped pistachios or cashew nuts, dried fruit or sliced strawberries.

15.   Leftovers will store in the fridge for up to 4 days if covered.

Nutritional Information

Makes 2-4 servings
Serving size: 1 pudding (1/2 of recipe)

Calories: 219
Fat: 2.9g
Saturated fat: 0g
Carbs: 44.2g
Fibre: 1.6g
Sugars: 20g
Protein:  1.6g

Nutritional information is for unsweetened almond milk with 23 kcal/ 100ml and sweetener tablets rather than sugar. This also includes the strawberry sauce, but not any extras like dried fruit or nuts. These will increase the calorie count significantly.

Recipe Notes:

Another serving suggestion is to put dried fruit and chopped nuts at the bottom of the glasses before pouring the pudding in. Alternatively you could add them in after straining the pudding and then pour it into the glasses. This will change the calorie count.

*This can be made with other milks if almond milk is not available, but the calorie count will change and it may or may not be vegan. To keep this vegan and dairyfree, but for a richer pudding, use canned coconut milk (either low fat or normal will work). Adding a small amount of coconut cream will make it even richer, however I would suggest making the serving size smaller to keep the calorie count down.

**The sweetener can be replaced with any sweetener of your choice like stevia or sugar. For liquid sweeteners, I wouldn’t recommend anything like maple syrup as it is quite a strong flavour. Honey could work, but you will definitely taste the honey, but that could be quite nice.

Please make sure that you stir this pudding constantly as you are making it as otherwise it will clump up and I’d suggest straining it before pouring it into the glasses to remove the cardamom pods and any lumps.

 

Leave a Reply

