Breakfast · Desserts · Quickbreads · Snacks

Vanilla Lavender Tea Cake

My loaf pan has been getting more use lately and with fresh lavender blooming in the garden, I thought I could use some of it in my cooking. Lavender is one of my favourite flowers and I always remember having lavender spray on my bed as a child to help me sleep. IMG_2019.JPG

I first saw this idea on Pinterest and I just had to try it, only with a healthier spin on things.

Gathering the lavender wasn’t as easy as I hoped it would be though. I don’t like bees and lavender attracts bees like crazy, especially in the middle of summer. I had to ask my brother to get me a few sprigs during my first trial of this and I was finally able to get more for my second attempt when it was darker and most of the bees had left. The chopped lavender makes little specks in the slices, which look really nice.

This is an awesome recipe which you won’t regret making and each bite is soft and full of vanilla and lavender goodness.

IMG_1925

This makes one large loaf or 4 mini loaves. I halved the recipe to make 2 mini loaves to try it out before making a bigger one and they turned out lovely. They were very adorable. IMG_1998

Leftovers will keep for about 3 days if left at room temperature or for a week if stored in an airtight container in the fridge. It stays fairly soft in the fridge for a few days, but can dry out a little.

To make sure that your loaf is done, insert a skewer into the centre first and if it comes out clean, then stick a thin knife into the centre and if that comes out without any moist crumbs sticking to it in clumps then it’s done. I always find it hard to judge when quick breads or cakes make in loaf pans are done because sometimes the skewer test doesn’t work.

Enjoy and please comment on how it went for you!

Vanilla Lavender Tea Cake

Adapted from: Allrecipes: Lavender Tea Bread

Prep time: 10 mins

Cook time: 50 mins

Total time: 60 mins

Yield: 10 slices (for large loaf)/ 4 mini loaves

Calories per serving: 162 calories

Ingredients

  • 240g
    Plain flour
  • 2 tsp
    Cornstarch
  • 1/2 tsp
    Salt
  • 2 tbsp fresh lavender
  • 1.5 tsp
    Baking powder
  • 1/2 cup
    Low calorie sweetener
  • 2 tbsp
    Honey
  • 10ml
    Vanilla extract
  • 40g
    Sugar
  • 90ml
    Milk
  • 2
    Eggs
  • 2 tbsp
    Butter
  • 100g
    Natural Greek yoghurt/ vanilla yoghurt (for extra vanilla flavour)

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°C/ 160°C fan assisted and lightly grease a 8×5 or 9×4 inch loaf tray or 4 mini loaf tins.
  2. Heat milk and chopped lavender together in a microwave safe bowl  for 30s intervals for 2 minutes or on a pan until simmering and leave to cool down.
  3. Mix together the dry ingredients with a whisk in a medium bowl.
  4. In a large bowl, cream together the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the yoghurt, honey, sweetener and vanilla extract.
  5. Add in the eggs one at a time, mixing until just combined. Overbeating will cause gummy streaks in your batter.
  6. Add part of the dry ingredients to the yoghurt mixture then the milk, alternating between them and finishing with the dry ingredients. Be careful to only mix until just combined together.
  7. Pour the batter into the loaf tin and bake for 45-55 minutes or until a toothpick or a thin knife stuck into the centre of the loaf comes out clean. Cover with a piece of foil if the top of the loaf before the centre is cooked.
  8. Leave to cool down on a cooling rack for 10-20 minutes and cut into 10 slices.

Nutritional Information

For 1 slice (1/10 of recipe)

Calories: 162 calories
Fat: 4.6g
Saturated fat: 2.5g
Carbohydrates: 25.4g
Protein: 4.5g
Sugars: 8.6g
Fibre: 0.7g

Recipe Notes

Use vanilla yoghurt for a more intense vanilla extract and decrease the vanilla extract. Also, I tried this recipe with fat free vanilla yoghurt and I would suggest decreasing the amount of milk down to 50ml or so and add more if necessary. This will decrease the calories as well, but it will give a more intense vanilla flavour.

You can replace the sweetener with Stevia or sugar, but this will change the calorie content if you decide to use sugar. I wouldn’t suggest using liquid sweeteners unless you decrease the amount of yoghurt or milk as otherwise it will be way too soggy.

Another optional add-in would adding some lemon extract and lemon zest to make it into a lemon vanilla lavender tea cake which would be a nice flavour combination as well

Caraway seeds would also make a nice addition to this. I planned on adding them based on a suggestion from my dad, but we had none in the house so I just used vanilla and lavender.

Leave a Reply

