Cakes · Desserts · frugal

Orange Breadcrumb Loaf Cake

IMG_1626 (2)

Yes, I know, it’s another  breadcrumb recipe. Here’s the reason why. I tried making copycat Subway Italian Bread using Melissa’s recipe from Bless This Mess. My yeast was apparently very slow and barely rose, so I got a delicious, but very dense bread and once again, no one really ate it except for my mum and I, so I decided to turn it into breadcrumbs. Although, honestly it gave me another excuse to make dessert, so what the hell I made another breadcrumb cake. I think I have the Breadcrumb Cake perfected now. This was spongy, dense and delicious and honestly no one has been able to tell that there is no flour in there whatsoever and it’s a delicious way to use up leftover bread.

I haven’t tried using applesauce instead of some of the sugar but I’d suggest keeping the sugar as this is easy to make soggy and sugar adds bulk and flavour to the cake. Also, whipping the egg whites is important because it helps to make the cake more light and fluffy. It’s often used in gluten-free baking to make cakes less dense.

IMG_1620 (2).JPG

Lovely egg whites, all nice and fluffy.

There isn’t a huge amount in here, but on my journey in healthy cooking I’ve had lots of disasters from where I’ve reduced the sugar in some recipes and forgotten to compensate for that. Cue the sad moment where you throw away your recipe in the bin after one bite.

Speaking of sad moments where all of your recipes fail. I attempted to make sugar cookie bars using chickpeas and oats. I got the texture perfect, but the bean taste was overpowering and my sister wasn’t amused when I fed them to her on several different occasions. I tried 3 times to get it right and it just failed. I will get it eventually, but I will try my hand at other healthy baking recipes rather than just using beans as it’s now a family joke.

Also , just a warning, the batter is going to be very clumpy and look curdled, however it will bake up better I promise. The texture is lovely, but please try to get past the look of the batter.

IMG_1622

Yes, I  assure you that this turns into something delicious.

Anyway here’s the recipe and I hope you enjoy it.

Orange Breadcrumb Loaf Cake

A delicious sponge-like cake made with breadcrumbs instead of flour. No one will be able to tell the difference and it’s a great way to use leftover bread.

Prep time: 10-15 mins

Cook time: 20-30 mins

Total time: 30-45 mins

Yield: 7-10 slices

Ingredients

  • 180g  Breadcrumbs (I used breadcrumbs from the freezer so they had more moisture in them, but roughly 2- 2 1/4 cups breadcrumbs)
  • 75g/ 1/3 cup Brown sugar
  • 30g Butter/ Butter spread suitable for cooking
  • eggs, separated
  • 1/2 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1 tsp  Baking powder
  • 1 tsp Orange zest
  • 70ml/ Roughly 5 tbsp Orange juice, freshly squeezed
  • 95g Greek yoghurt, full fat
  • 1/4 tsp Salt
  • 1 tsp Orange Extract

Optional Extras

  • 1 tsp Ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp Nutmeg
  • 1 tsp Ground ginger 

Cooking Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees and grease loaf tin.
  2. Cream together butter and sugar, then add egg yolk and beat.
  3. Beat egg whites until fluffy and set aside.
  4. Add in yoghurt, extract, salt, orange juice, yolk mixture, zest and optional spices to food processor/ mixer and blend to combine
  5. Add in salt, baking powder, baking soda and breadcrumbs into bowl or food processor. Mix until combined.
  6. Fold in egg whites into bowl/ food processor until just combined. The batter will look clumpy and thick
  7. Spread into cake tin and bake for 10 mins uncoverd and then rest of time covered with foil for 25-30 mins or until toothpick comes out clean. (Fan powered oven) (took 25-28 mins for mine)
  8. Leave to cool on rack then cut into 7 slices.
  9. Store leftovers in fridge and eat within 3-4 days.

Nutritional Information

For 9 slices

Calories: 143 calories
Fat: 3.8g
Sugar: 10.5g
Protein: 4.3g

Recipe Notes

The bread I used had extra oil added to it, so it was slightly denser and higher in calories and fat as a result, but I have made this recipe with normal breadcrumbs and it turned out fine. So the calories may differ slightly depending on the kind of bread you use.

I also haven’t tried an egg-free version, but you could try to use vegan yoghurt and a flax egg instead of the egg and see what happens.

This can be done in different ways and you can make ginger cake, chocolate cake, vanilla cake, lemon cake… Honestly the possibilities are endless. The basic recipe stays the same, but you can change around the flavours.

Slice of Orange Loaf Breadcrumb Cake (2).JPG

2 thoughts on “Orange Breadcrumb Loaf Cake

    1. Yes it is and it’s an extra delicious way rather than just making bread pudding 🙂 I was getting sick and tired of bread pudding when I decided to try this recipe.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

